No more Early Word? Oh my!

I went on vacation and came back to find out that Early Word is done?!?!  Terrible news for librarians everywhere!  First it was The Readers’ Advisor Online Blog, now Early Word.  I had two immediate thoughts. 1) Maybe I could do something similar!  2) What does Becky Spratford have to say about it?

To address thought number 1:  When The Readers’ Advisor Online Blog shut down just a little over a year ago, I thought about trying my hand at it, but I knew that Early Word was around, so I didn’t.  I did, however, save their posts about how they culled their information and the resources they used.  Clearly there was still the idea in my head that perhaps someday I would give it a go.  Here is what they had to say about it:

We’d also like to take this opportunity to say that now there is an opportunity for someone else—perhaps RUSA, perhaps a library, or maybe even any number of personal bloggers—to publish a similar resource. At the end of this article, we will list a number of other websites and resources that we use to write this blog, in the hopes that others will somehow carry on this work. Because we know our audience, and we know that you are all people who in some way or another have chosen professions that are all about helping others, particularly to knowledge. We know that many of you will, in one way or another, step up to offer great reading resources to others.

As to thought number 2: I love reading Becky Spratford’s (RA for All) posts about Readers Advisory.  If you haven’t checked her out, you ABSOLUTELY should.  I knew she would have something to say about it, since she did when The Readers’ Advisor Online Blog shut down.  Also because she stays in the know about these things and wants to make sure that her readers are aware when something happens that will drastically affect the workflows of so many librarians.  And she wants them to be up on these things, too.  Unsurprisingly, she suggests that someone should take the reins, even if it is not as in-depth and is relatively simple.

Thus, I am going to attempt to become a resource for librarians everywhere.  I’m sure it won’t be as comprehensive or as pretty as Early Word and the Readers’ Advisor Online Blog, but I really feel it is important for busy librarians everywhere to have a resource that hopefully saves them a little time and keeps them up-to-date with what is going on in the book world.  And hopefully I can find a few fun things to bring some levity to our busy days as well.  I always enjoyed that from these previous resources.

Look for something new in the coming days!

Leave a Reply

