Finished Books: Beartown

Beartown by Fredrik Backman31445590

  • Published: 2017
  • Pages: 336

Link to Goodreads summary

Going into reading this book, I had read A Man Called Ove and had started Britt-Marie was Here.  Both books were full of quirky characters and were darkly humorous.  I knew immediately when I started Beartown that it was not like those two, and I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it or not.

I loved it.  I cannot emphasize enough how much it stuck with me and made me think.  Backman uses simple yet beautiful language to draw a town and fill it with color and shading and details that tug at your heartstrings.

In the book, there was an event that occurred that polarized the hockey-loving Swedish town.  It brought together people who had nothing else in common and it drew friends and families apart.  I live in a small town and I can imagine a similar event would have the exact same effect in this town.

There are a lot of characters in this book.  Just like how everyone involved with a hockey team has a role, everyone in the book had a role to play.  Backman writes intricate characters who have complicated motivations for their actions (or non-actions).  He examines human nature by illustrating moral ambiguities in his characters’ lives.

There are not many books to which I give 5-stars, or that I want to re-read (how would I ever get to all the other books?!), but I will most certainly be purchasing a copy of this book and re-reading it over the years.

Rating: 5 stars

*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required.*

4 thoughts on “Finished Books: Beartown

Leave a Reply

