Finished Books: Let Me Die in His Footsteps

Let Me Die in His Footsteps by Lori Roy

  • Published: 2015
  • Pages: 327

Link to Goodreads summary

23398925I will admit to not having read enough mystery novels that were not part of a series.  I’m familiar with police procedurals, cozy mysteries, amateur detectives, and many of the typical tropes associated with the mystery genre in general.  Those books were all part of my comfort reads until recently.  So when I read Let Me Die in His Footsteps, the winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel in 2016, I was perplexed.  Primarily by my own ignorance.  Why haven’t I read more stand-alone mystery novels?

The plot unfolded gradually, much like a slow summer afternoon in Kentucky, the setting of our story.  Roy’s descriptions of the atmosphere evoked images of dusty roads and hazy skies.  Switching back and forth a generation in time, the story emerges from Sarah’s and Annie’s narrations.  The reader finds out the intricacies of the relationships between characters through the eyes of those two girls: their sisters, their families, their friends, their neighbors, and the townsfolk.

While I wasn’t on the edge of my seat, gripped with terror or filled with suspense as the story climaxed, curiosity about the accuracy of my hunches kept me reading, wanting to find out how it ended.  Readers who like a deliberately paced story, and don’t mind shifting time frames, will enjoy discovering the family and neighbor dynamics of this sleepy Kentucky town.  Not solely for mystery fans, but perfect for fans of general fiction as well.

Rating: 3 stars

 

Leave a Reply

