Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Books I would recommend to Aunt Judy

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, participating bloggers respond to the given topic with their own top 10 list.  I participate as time allows and as the theme appeals to me.

My aunt Judy is the reason I started reading any sort of murder-mysteries or thrillers.  One holiday weekend when I was visiting, we were headed to the beach and I had nothing to read, so I grabbed Sue Grafton’s A is for Alibi off her shelf.

I have since found out from speaking to her that she really enjoys crime and mystery novels that have strong women protagonists.  She also tends to read a lot of books in series.  I know for a fact she enjoys Sue Grafton, Janet Evanovich, Kathy Reichs, and Tess Gerritsen.

For today’s top 10, I have come up with 10 crime or mystery series featuring women protagonists that I think aunt Judy should try.

Pictures of five covers of the first books in the series

  1. Inspector Lynley series by Elizabeth George – One of the main characters is Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers who, along with Detective Inspector Thomas “Tommy” Lynley investigate crimes.
  2. … in Death series by J. D. Robb – Although I am not sure the future setting of this will necessarily appeal to her, I think that aunt Judy would at least give the book a try.  If the writing and stories are satisfactory, I think she is able to get past futuristic settings when reading.
  3. Women’s Murder Club series by James Patterson – Featuring four leading ladies of different professions, this series is likely to intrigue her.
  4. Joanna Brady series by J. A. Jance – I’m not entirely sure how she’ll feel about the Arizona setting, it may not affect her at all.  Again, if the story is compelling, I don’t think setting is an issue.
  5. Kay Scarpetta series by Patricia Cornwell – Reminiscent of Tess Gerritsen’s Rizzoli and Isles books, or even Kathy Reichs’s Temperence Brennan books, Dr. Kay Scarpetta sounds like a character that would fit in well with what aunt Judy already reads.Pictures of 5 more titles I would recommend to my aunt
  6. Charlotte McNally series by Hank Phillippi Ryan – She seems to go for more traditionally police or doctor-detective type characters, but I think she would be willing to at least try a book about a TV investigative reporter trying to solve crimes.
  7. Jessie Drake series by Rochelle Krich – Another female detective investigating murders that she probably has not read yet.
  8. Irene Kelly Mystery series by Jan Burke – Based in Southern California, much like the Kinsey Milhone books by Sue Grafton, a reporter uncovers secrets as she digs for the truth behind mysteries.
  9. Cordelia Gray series by P. D. James – There are only two books in this series, but I think the character would be one that aunt Judy would really enjoy: a newly-minted private investigator.
  10. Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series by Laurie R. King – The leading female character in this might be a bit young (15 years old) compared to what she normally reads, but, again, I think she is willing to give most books a shot.  I like the Sherlock Holmes aspect of the book, but it would be interesting to see what aunt Judy’s reaction to it would be.

There you have it.  Ten book series I think my aunt Judy should read.  They won’t really expand outside her preferred genre, and that’s okay.  There certainly are plenty of lead female characters to choose from in the murder-mystery arena.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Books I would recommend to Aunt Judy

  1. I had no idea the Inspector Lynley series was based off of books! I’m always surprised how many crime dramas are based off of books, they seem to be especially adaptable

    • I actually had no idea the Inspector Lynley series was a television series until I put together this list. But I agree, crime novels lend themselves pretty well to being adapted for television or sometimes even movies. Especially ever since CSI and NCIS and the like took off.

Leave a Reply

