Top Ten Tuesday #2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, participating bloggers respond to the given topic with their own top 10 list.  In case I haven’t mentioned it before, I will participate sporadically, and hopefully more often once I am able to begin reading more regularly again.

This week’s theme is Top Ten Sequels I Cannot Wait to Get My Hands On.  I know that many people will be writing about all the new sequels that are coming out soon or that just recently came out.  Considering I do not get a chance to read as much as I would like, many of the sequels I would like to read are already out (and have been for a while!), or I haven’t even had a chance to start the series yet.  So this week, I am adapting the theme to be the

Top Ten Sequels/Series I Still Need to Read

The first five list items are books where I have read the first book but need to finish the series.

Pictures of the Titles from Veronica Roth, Ally Condie, and Stieg Larsson that I have not yet read

1. Insurgent and Allegiant by Veronica Roth

2. Crossed and Reached by Ally Condie

3. The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

Pictures of the covers from the Amulet and Good Thief's Guide Series

4. Amulet Books 2-5 by Kazu Kibuishi

5. The Good Thief’s Guide to… Paris, Vegas, Venice, and Berlin  by Chris Ewan

The last five list items are books where I have heard really good things about a series but have not yet been able to read any of the books in the series.

Pictures of the covers of the first book in each series I have not yet read

6. Terry Pratchett’s Discworld Series

7. Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments Series

8. Debora Geary’s A Modern Witch Series

9. Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files Series

10. George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire Series

Well, now you all know how very far behind I am in reading. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #2

  1. I enjoyed the Girl With the Tattoo Trilogy (well, I almost DNFed the book after a scene – and trust me, you’ll know which one – in the first book. It seemed unnecessary…until you read the next two books, so stick with it if that’s your only qualm!), but I don’t understand what all the hype was about. Was it good? Yes. Mind blowingly amazing? Not really.

    I just started reading The Dresden Files this summer and they’re really awesome! It’s like Magnum PI meets…wizards in Chicago? I don’t have a combination for that hahah.

    • Oh, I definitely remember which scene you are talking about. I feel the same as you (at least about the first book). It was definitely good, but I didn’t think it was super-amaze-aguh-awesome (of course I didn’t make that word up. What do you mean?). I hate to not finish books in a series, but there are SO MANY OTHER BOOKS TO READ!

    • Thanks! There was a student at a high school I used to work at that absolutely loved The Mortal Instruments. He used to only read graphic novels until the Hunger Games came out and now he’s an avid reader of regular novels as well!

  2. I enjoyed most of Storm Front but I didn’t like the way Butcher characterised the women in the book. I guess he was going for a noir vibe but a lot of it came across as sexist. Here’s my TTT

    • Wow, I had never heard that about his books, which surprises me from the people who have recommended them to me. I will have to keep that in mind while I’m reading to see what I think. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays: Sequels I am looking forward to. | A World of Books

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Let’s Talk Sequels | Cooking and Composition

Leave a Reply

